slam stuff

Apr. 17th, 2003 11:10 am
glaucon: (Default)
[personal profile] glaucon
roxane said I should post a summary of last night's Slam semi-finals for morris.

so here's the story:
the competitors were roberto ascelon, coy king, chris holmok, shon c, christa bell, james whiton, marsha marsha marsha, and rajnii edans.

rajnii's mom read on the open mike. it was weird. she sang her entire piece. it must be genetic. also on the open mike was someone named kristin (I think) who had been on dallas team that won at Nationals two years ago. just happened to be passing through town.

long story short, roberto and shon c won themselves spots in the Grand Slam. shon c had the higher cumulative score from round 1 and 2, but rob came back and kicked his ass in the final round. both were really good. the judges seemed to really hate rob's second round piece. I'm not sure if it was because the Bad Juju is such a crappy venue, or because it was a little too emotionally raw, or because they were just starting to get tired after hearing 6 open mikers, a features, and a dozen competition pieces before him.

otherwise, I pretty much agreed with the judge's decisions. coy and rajnii both did a fine job, but everyone in the room had heard their pieces a dozen or more times and wasn't very enthused about hearing them again. christa bell is a really good writer, but her delivery is a little too flat. the same is true, to a lesser extent, for james whiton, who opened with a very page-oriented piece that just didn't fly competitively.

marsha marsha marsha and holmok both could (and possibly should) easily have won the night. if the draw order had been different, I think either or both of them might have gone all the way. marsha is a recent arrival on the slam scene, I think, and cracks me the fuck up. her performance is totally over-the-top, crazy-go-nuts funny and she's so unself-conscious and sincere that I can't help but love her. she ended up in third or fourth for the evening and I'd like to see more from her, even if doing so risks giving me a brain aneurism.

holmok was the real tragedy of the evening. he performed the best I've ever seen him, and his Drill Press piece in round two was one of the couple best of the evening, but he drew the #1 slot in round one and got a undeserved 22.3, then had to go last in round two, which seems like it should be good, but by the middle of round two, the audience and judges were obviously fatigued and just wanted to go the hell home. score creep did a bit of a bell curve and poor chris got shafted coming and going.

oh well. they'll probably all be back for the Wild Card next week.

so the line-up for the Grand Slam now is: Roberto, Shon C, Karyna, Greg Hischak, Kristin Aurora, and Jeremy Richards. any combination of those six would make a fantastic team, but damn...that much concentrated goofiness on one stage makes me worry that the Grand Slam will undergo goofitational collapse and become a Goofy Hole. three goofy white guys, two goofy (and lanky) white girls, and a rob, who definitely has goofy-nature as well.

ah, seattle.

anyway, operating on the premise that Slam will only fully come into its own as a competitive activity when people start placing bets, I'm going to start taking entries for my Grand Slam pool as soon as the wild card results are in. entries will consist of a list of four winners, one champ, and one alternate. for every one of the top four that you correctly predict, you get a point. if you correctly predict the champ, you get three points. picking the alternate correctly gets two points, since it's really freakin' hard to guess who's going to come in fifth out of a field of eight. I guess it'll cost two dollars to enter, and the highest score will receive the pot. in the event of a tie, the winners will either split the money or do head-to-head haiku for it.

Date: 2003-04-20 01:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mstegosaurus.livejournal.com
Thanks for the update!

Can I enter your pool from here, and like, owe the winner two dollars next time I see her/him if I lose?

pool 'n' stuff

Date: 2003-04-22 01:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] glaucon.livejournal.com
sure, you can enter the pool from a distance. I'll put up your entry fee and you can owe me. I'll post the wild card winners on thursday and you can email me your picks. all bets/guesses will remain confidential unless the results are challenged.

I went along for karyna's feature in bellingham last night. you weren't kidding; that place is a fantastic venue. they loved her set and she made do-wah-diddy-diddy-diggy-diggy dough. you'll be pleased to hear that they still remember and love you up there. when she introduced her piece to/about you, she mentioned that it was dedicated to you and asked if anyone knew you. the cheer was deafening.

Qua...?

Date: 2003-04-22 01:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mstegosaurus.livejournal.com
Poem to/about me, you say?

Do tell!

Re: Qua...?

Date: 2003-04-22 02:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] glaucon.livejournal.com
it's called "letter to a fellow future perfectionist" and is sorta a introspective kinda thing about conversations she's had with you and, more importantly, conversations she wishes she's had but hasn't. something about wasp mousse.

Profile

glaucon: (Default)
glaucon

December 2009

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789 101112
131415161718 19
20212223242526
2728293031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:04 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios